2023 IRS SECTION 42(d)(5)(B) NONMETROPOLITAN DIFFICULT DEVELOPMENT AREAS (OMB Metropolitan Area Definitions, September 14, 2018) *Effective Date January 1, 2023

State	Nonmetropolitan Counties or	County Equivalents			
Alabama	Bullock County	Chambers County	Pike County	Sumter County	
	Wilcox County				
Alaska	Aleutians East Borough	Aleutians West Census Area	Bethel Census Area	Denali Borough	
	Dillingham Census Area	Hoonah-Angoon Census Area	Ketchikan Gateway Borough	Kodiak Island Borough	
	Nome Census Area	North Slope Borough	Northwest Arctic Borough	Petersburg Census Area	
	Sitka City and Borough	Skagway Municipality	Southeast Fairbanks Census Area	Yakutat City and Borough	
	Sitka City and Borough	Skagway Municipanty	Southeast Fairbanks Census Area	Takutat City and Borough	
Arizona	Apache County	Gila County	Graham County	La Paz County	
	Navajo County	Santa Cruz County			
Arkansas	Calhoun County	Nevada County			
California	Amador County	Calaveras County	Colusa County	Del Norte County	
	Glenn County	Humboldt County	Inyo County	Lake County	
	Mariposa County	Mendocino County	Mono County	Nevada County	
	Sierra County	Tehama County	Tuolumne County		
Colorado	Archulata County	Chaffee County	Cuctor County	Dolta County	
COIOTAGO	Archuleta County	•	Custer County	Delta County	
	Eagle County	Fremont County	Garfield County	Grand County	
	Gunnison County	Kit Carson County	La Plata County	Lincoln County	
	Mineral County	Moffat County	Montezuma County	Montrose County	
	Morgan County	Ouray County	Pitkin County	Routt County	
	San Juan County	San Miguel County	Summit County	Yuma County	
Florida	Bradford County	Calhoun County	Columbia County	DeSoto County	
	Dixie County	Franklin County	Glades County	Gulf County	
	Hamilton County	Hardee County	Hendry County	Holmes County	
	Jackson County	Lafayette County	Liberty County	Madison County	
	Monroe County	Okeechobee County	Putnam County	Suwannee County	
	Taylor County	Union County	Washington County		
Georgia	Banks County	Bulloch County	Camden County	Hart County	
	Lumpkin County	Rabun County	Seminole County	Sumter County	
	Thomas County	Towns County	Troup County	White County	
Hawaii	Hawaii County	Kalawao County	Kauai County		
nawaii	Hawaii County	Raiawao County	Radai County		
ldaho	Benewah County	Blaine County	Bonner County	Camas County	
	Clark County	Clearwater County	Custer County	Elmore County	
	Gooding County	Idaho County	Lemhi County	Lincoln County	
	Madison County	Oneida County	Payette County	Washington County	
Kentucky	Calloway County				
Louisiana	Avoyelles Parish	Bienville Parish	Caldwell Parish	Claiborne Parish	
	Concordia Parish	East Carroll Parish	Evangeline Parish	Franklin Parish	
	Jackson Parish	La Salle Parish	Lincoln Parish	Madison Parish	
	Natchitoches Parish	Red River Parish	Richland Parish	Sabine Parish	
	St. Landry Parish	St. Mary Parish	Tensas Parish	Vernon Parish	
	Washington Parish	Webster Parish	West Carroll Parish	Winn Parish	
	Page 1 of 3				

2023 IRS SECTION 42(d)(5)(B) NONMETROPOLITAN DIFFICULT DEVELOPMENT AREAS (OMB Metropolitan Area Definitions, September 14, 2018) *Effective Date January 1, 2023

State	Nonmetropolitan Counties of	r County Equivalents		
Maine	Knox County	Lincoln County	Oxford County	Waldo County
Massachusetts	Dukes County	Nantucket County		
Michigan	Otsego County			
Mississippi	Adams County	Amite County	Attala County	Benton County
	Bolivar County	Calhoun County	Chickasaw County	Choctaw County
	Claiborne County	Clay County	Coahoma County	Franklin County
	Grenada County	Humphreys County	Issaguena County	Jasper County
	Jefferson County	Jefferson Davis County	Jones County	Kemper County
	Lafayette County	Lauderdale County	Lawrence County	Leake County
	Lee County	Leflore County	Lincoln County	Marion County
	Montgomery County	Neshoba County	Newton County	Noxubee County
	Panola County	Pearl River County	Pike County	Prentiss County
	Quitman County	Scott County	Sharkey County	Sunflower County
	Tallahatchie County	Tippah County	Tishomingo County	Walthall County
	Warren County	Washington County	Wilkinson County	Winston County
	Yalobusha County			
Missouri	Ozark County	Taney County		
Nevada	Douglas County	Lyon County	Mineral County	Nye County
	White Pine County			
New Hampshire	Grafton County	Sullivan County		
New Mexico	Chaves County	Curry County	Lea County	Mora County
	Roosevelt County	Taos County		
New York	Greene County	Sullivan County		
North Carolina	Avery County	Chowan County	Clay County	Dare County
	Halifax County	Hertford County	Lee County	Macon County
	Pasquotank County	Perquimans County	Polk County	Transylvania County
	Tyrrell County			
Oklahoma	Beckham County	Payne County		
Oregon	Clatsop County	Coos County	Crook County	Curry County
	Douglas County	Gilliam County	Hood River County	Jefferson County
	Klamath County	Lincoln County	Malheur County	Morrow County
	Sherman County	Tillamook County	Union County	Wasco County
South Carolina	Abbeville County	Allendale County	Bamberg County	Barnwell County
	Cherokee County	Chesterfield County	Colleton County	Dillon County
	Georgetown County	Greenwood County	Hampton County	Lee County
	Marion County Union County	Marlboro County Williamsburg County	Newberry County	Orangeburg County
South Dakota	Custer County			
Outil Dakota	Custer County			
			Page 2 of 3	

2023 IRS SECTION 42(d)(5)(B) NONMETROPOLITAN DIFFICULT DEVELOPMENT AREAS (OMB Metropolitan Area Definitions, September 14, 2018) *Effective Date January 1, 2023

State	Nonmetropolitan Counties or County Equivalents				
Tennessee	Bedford County	Sevier County			
Texas	Anderson County	Angelina County	Aransas County	Bee County	
	Blanco County	Brewster County	Brown County	Childress County	
	Concho County	Culberson County	Deaf Smith County	Floyd County	
	Foard County	Frio County	Gillespie County	Gray County	
	Hansford County	Hartley County	Hemphill County	Henderson County	
	Hood County	Howard County	Hutchinson County	Jasper County	
	Jim Wells County	Kenedy County	Kerr County	Kinney County	
	Kleberg County	Lee County	Limestone County	Llano County	
	McCulloch County	Madison County	Matagorda County	Montague County	
	Moore County	Nacogdoches County	Navarro County	Ochiltree County	
	Palo Pinto County	Panola County	Pecos County	Real County	
	Reeves County	San Augustine County	San Saba County	Shackelford County	
	Somervell County	Terrell County	Trinity County	Val Verde County	
	Walker County	Ward County	Wood County		
Vermont	Lamoille County	Orange County	Washington County	Windham County	
/irginia	Caroline County	Cumberland County	Essex County	Middlesex County	
	Prince Edward County	Richmond County			
Washington	Clallam County	Columbia County	Island County	Jefferson County	
	Kittitas County	Klickitat County	Lewis County	Mason County	
	Pacific County	Pend Oreille County	San Juan County	Whitman County	
West Virginia	Greenbrier County	Lewis County	Upshur County	Webster County	
	Wetzel County	Wyoming County			
American Samoa	Eastern District	Manu'a District	Swains Island	Western District	
Guam	Guam				
Northern Mariana Island	s Northern Islands Municipality	Rota Municipality	Saipan Municipality	Tinian Municipality	
Puerto Rico	Coamo Municipio	Culebra Municipio	Jayuya Municipio	Maricao Municipio	
	Salinas Municipio	Santa Isabel Municipio	Vieques Municipio		
/irgin Islands	St. Croix	St. John	St. Thomas		

Count = 376 nonmetropolitan DDAs.